World Quilt Competition 2015 – The World to Visit in the Form of Quilts

World Quilt New England

When you enter the exhibition area of World Quilt New England, you will be immediately awed by the abundance of fantastic quilts from all over the world that come together there. Among them are those quilts that have been approved by the jury to participate in the World Quilt Competition. Each year, these quilts form a wonderful collection of artworks, which does not make it easy for the jurors to award the “Best of Show” prize. The competition in 2016 will also be no exception!

The first stop of the “World Quilt Competition XX” will be the World Quilt New England, where we will again be guests at the “Radisson Center of New Hampshire” in Manchester from 18 to 20 August 2016. The prizes will be awarded at this first event of the series. From New Hampshire, the international quilts as well as the award-winning quilts from US participants will travel to other quilt festivals in other parts of the US hosted by Mancuso Show Management. Don’t miss this opportunity to personally marvel at the creativity and talent that this international collection expresses in a beautiful and culturally specific way!

This international quilt competition is already being held for the 20th time and attracts participants from all over the world. At the “World Quilt Competition 2016” quilts from Australia, Canada, Germany, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, South Africa, Great Britain and the U.S.A. will be competing for the prize money with a total value of more than $9,500. A “Best of Country” award will be presented among the entries from each country. The winner of the coveted “Best of World” award will be chosen from all submitted works. All visitors to the World Quilt New England can also vote on who will receive the Audience Award.

Following their World Quilt Competition debut at World Quilt New England in New Hampshire, the international works and award-winning quilts by US American quilters will be exhibited at the following events:

  • Pennsylvania National Quilt Extravaganza, 15-18 September 2016, Greater Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Oasis Quilt Festival, October 5-7, 2016, Palm Springs, California
  • Pacific International Quilt Festival, October 13-16, 2016, San Francisco Metropolitan Area, California

The Winners and Their Quilts in Detail

  • Honorable Mention, Innovative: “Pros and Cons” by Martina Hilgert-Vervoort
  • Best of Country Award for Germany: “Tango” by Brigitte Gelf
  • Best Hand Workmanship, Traditional: “Rhodonite” by Andrea Stracke

The World Quilt Competition offers the unique opportunity to admire works by national and international artists in one exhibition. Immerse yourself in the world of colours and quilting!

Click here if you would like to participate!

Images From the Exhibition at Nadelwelt 2016 in Karlsruhe, Germany

« 1 of 5 »

World Quilt Competition 2015 – Die Welt zu Besuch in Form von Quilts

World Quilt New England

Wenn man die Ausstellungsfläche der World Quilt New England betritt, wird man direkt ehrfürchtig in Anbetracht der Fülle fantastischer Quilts aus aller Welt, die sich dort ein Stelldichein geben. Darunter befinden sich auch diejenigen Quilts, die im Vorfeld von der Jury für Teilnahme an der „World Quilt Competition“ zugelassen worden sind. Diese Quilts bilden jedes Jahr aufs Neue eine wunderbare Sammlung von Kunstwerken, die den Juroren die Vergabe der „Best of Show“-Auszeichnung nicht einfach macht. Auch der Wettbewerb in 2016 wird diesbezüglich keine Ausnahme sein!

Die erste Station der „World Quilt Competition XX“ wird die World Quilt New England sein, wo wir vom 18. bis 20. August 2016 wieder im „Radisson Center of New Hampshire“ in Manchester zu Gast sein werden. Bei dieser ersten Veranstaltung der Serien werden die Preise vergeben. Von New Hampshire aus werden die internationalen Quilts sowie die ausgezeichneten Quilts von US-amerikanischen TeilnehmerInnen zu weiteren, von der Mancuso Show Management veranstalteten Quilt-Festivals in anderen Teilen der U.S.A. reisen. Lassen Sie sich die Gelegenheit nicht entgehen, die Kreativität und das Talent, die in dieser internationalen Sammlung wunderschön und kulturspezifisch zum Ausdruck kommen, persönlich zu bestaunen!

Dieser internationale Quiltwettbewerb wird mittlerweile bereits zum 20. Male ausgeschrieben und zieht TeilnehmerInnen aus der ganzen Welt an. Bei der „World Quilt Competition 2016“ werden Quilt aus Australien, Kanada, Deutschland, Israel, Japan, Neuseeland, Südafrika, Großbritannien und den U.S.A. um das Preisgeld im Gesamtwert von mehr als $9.500 streiten. Unter den Einreichungen der einzelnen Länder wird je eine „Best of Country“-Auszeichnung vergeben. Unter allen eingereichten Arbeiten wird der Gewinner des begehrten „Best of World „-Preises ermittelt. Alle Besucher der World Quilt New England können darüber hinaus abstimmen, wer den Publikumspreis verliehen bekommt.

Nach ihrem Debüt der World Quilt Competition bei der World Quilt New England in New Hampshire werden die internationalen Arbeiten sowie die ausgezeichneten Quilts US-amerikanischer QuilterInnen bei den nachstehenden Veranstaltungen ausgestellt werden:

  • Pennsylvania National Quilt Extravaganza, 15.-18 September 2016, Großraum Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Quiltfest Oasis, 5.-7. Oktober 2016, Palm Springs, Kalifornien
  • Pacific International Quilt Festival, 13.-16. Oktober 2016, Großraum San Francisco, Kalifornien

Die Preisträgerinnen und ihre Siegerquilts im Einzelnen

  • Honorable Mention, Innovative: „Pro und Kontra“ von Martina Hilgert-Vervoort
  • Best of Country-Preis für Deutschland: „Tango“ von Brigitte Gelf
  • Best Hand Workmanship, Traditional: „Rhodonite“ von Andrea Stracke

Die World Quilt Competition bietet die einzigartige Möglichkeit, Arbeiten nationaler und internationaler KünstlerInnen in einer Ausstellung zu bewundern. Tauchen Sie ein in die Welt der Farben und des Quiltens!

Hier geht’s zur Anmeldung!

Bilder von der Ausstellung bei der Nadelwelt 2016 in Karlsruhe

« 1 von 5 »